States With Private Attorney General Statutes
Is the Attorney General the same in all 50 states?
Though there are some commonalities, the office of the attorney general is not the same across the fifty states. As we will discuss, while most attorneys general are elected, some are appointed by the legislature or the state supreme court. Though most attorneys general are in the executive branch, some are in the judicial.
What are some examples of private attorney general laws?
The United States Congress has also passed laws with "private attorney general" provisions that provide for the enforcement of laws prohibiting employment discrimination, police brutality, and water pollution. Under the Clean Water Act, for example, "any citizen" may bring suit against an individual or a company that is a source of water pollution.statewide legal services ct
What is statewide legal services of Connecticut?
Statewide Legal Services of Connecticut staff is a dedicated and experienced group of people working to provide assistance to eligible people seeking help with legal problems affecting their most fundamental rights.
How do I contact the statewide legal services hotline?
If you want to talk with someone about the problem or think you may need the services of an attorney, call the Statewide Legal Services Hotline: Toll-free: (800) 453-3320. From Middletown and Hartford: (860) 344-0380. Our hotline calling hours are: 9:00 a.m. - 12 noon and 1-2 p.m.
What is statewide Legal Services (SLS)?
Statewide Legal Services (SLS) gives free legal advice to low-income people with problems in Connecticut. For some problems we may send you to another legal aid program or to a volunteer attorney. We cannot help people with problems in other states.
Where can I get legal help in Connecticut?
Legal Help. If you want to talk with someone about the problem or think you may need the services of an attorney, call the Statewide Legal Services Hotline: Toll-free: (800) 453-3320. From Middletown and Hartford: (860) 344-0380.statute of limitations in utah for personal injury
What is the Statute of limitations for a personal injury lawsuit?
In a typical case, the plaintiff would have two years from the date of being hit by the defendant to file suit. Statutes of limitations can vary from state to state, and from state court to federal court.
Can you claim injury after 5 years?
Medical negligence claim time limit: You have three years from the date of the injury or the date the injury was discovered.How long after an accident can you claim compensation?www.national-accident-helpline.co.uk › making-a-claim › claims-process
What is the discovery rule in a Utah personal injury case?
The discovery rule applies to most claims in Utah. Utah followed a modified comparative negligence rule when awarding damages. If the plaintiff is more than 50% at fault for their own injuries, they recover nothing; otherwise, the amount awarded is reduced by their percentage of fault.
How far back can you claim personal injury?
We often hear from people curious to know if it's too late to claim compensation for serious injuries that happened several years ago. The law is very clear on this. Section 11 of the Limitation Act 1980 states the time limit for a personal injury claim (called the limitation period) is 3 years.Can I claim compensation for an accident which happened years ago?www.novumlaw.com › blog › novum-blog › can-i-claim-compensation-fo...